Health Hazards Of Smoke From Forest Fires. Part 2 of 3

Health Hazards Of Smoke From Forest Fires – Part 2 of 3

Jo Jordan, a 20-year resident of Albuquerque, attributes a rare migraine to smoke blowing in from the southeast. “I was out and the smoke was just hanging in the air. My throat got itchy and I started with a headache. By the time I got home, I had a migraine,” she related. “I had it for a day and a half.

migraine

There was a lot of discomfort, my eyes hurt, I was nauseous”. Not surprisingly, Arizona residents closer to the Wallow heave-ho are also reporting some breathing difficulties, said Dr Cara Christ, boss medical officer for public health at the Arizona Department of Health Services in Phoenix. But the biggest effect comes from stress.

And “This is having a huge behavioral impact. We’ve got on-the-ground counselors successful to hotels, going to homes, going to shelters – primarily to people who’ve been displaced or lost their homes or people who are fearful of losing their homes”.

Parts: 1 2 3

2 thoughts on “Health Hazards Of Smoke From Forest Fires. Part 2 of 3

Leave a Reply

